Butternut Squash Pizza

As much as I hate the cold temperatures winter brings, I have to admit I love some of the foods of the season. I try to use butternut squash as much as possible. Even though you can get it year-round, it’s definitely what I’d consider comfort food material. I’m always looking for new ways to use it in my cooking. With that in mind, I bring you butternut squash pizza!

I have to give credit to Jen for the crust recipe, which is posted below. It’s super simple to make, and only needs to rest for 10 minutes. I generally end up not making dough from scratch because I am too impatient to let it rise, so I will be putting this quick crust recipe to use all the time. Her recipe calls for regular flour, but it being the month of resolutions and all, I made it with whole wheat flour. Turned out great. I only wish I had rolled it out about twice as thin as I did. I mixed it up in my food processor, which kept my counters and hands clean, which is also a miracle when making dough. I can’t wait to try this out with more combinations. 

Quick Pizza Dough, by the Hungry Runner

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 1 packet active dry yeast
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups flour

Stir water, sugar, and yeast together until dissolved. Add olive oil and salt.  Stir flour in until well blended. Let dough rest for 10 minutes, then roll out into desire shape. Cover with desired sauce and toppings and bake 15-20 minutes at 425 degrees.

Butternut Squash Pizza

  • Prepared pizza dough (see recipe above)
  • 1 small butternut squash
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • fresh sage, finely shredded

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Slice butternut squash as thinly as possible. Place in a single layer on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until squash is tender. While squash is baking, roll out pizza dough to desired shape. Place on baking sheet (I lined the sheet with parchment paper). Arrange squash on crust in a single layer. Distribute ricotta in large dollops with a spoon as desired. Sprinkle with sage. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until crust is golden brown.

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Pizza

  1. I can’t wait to try this! I don’t know why I stop using butternut squash as soon as fall is over, that’s just silly. What other toppings did you end up putting on your pizza? I see cheese and maybe…basil?

  2. Looks delicious! I also love butternut squash, though I usually freeze a few bags of cubed squash as winter winds down so I can have it later if I want some. I like how well it pairs with different kinds of cheese too, ricotta, goat cheese, feta, all wins! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

Leave a Reply

