My First Running Injury

I’ve been running for a few years now, and have been fairly lucky with my health in that time. Sure, I’ve had some sprains and pulls, plenty of problems with my IT band and my SI joint… the usual runner stuff. But I haven’t had an injury that kept me off the trails for more than a few days to date.

Unfortunately, it looks like I’m breaking that streak now.I noticed some pain in my left foot after the marathon last week. It’s mild enough that it’s not bothering me too much, but it was enough to make me seek out some medical attention. I know lots of runners who have dealt with stress fractures, so I had a hunch that might be the case. I decided to stay off of my foot until my appointment, just so I didn’t risk making it worse.

Image

I had my appointment today at Rothman Institute. These guys are serious about sports medecine. I’ve never been in such an intimidating doctor’s office. But they were quite efficient. I filled out my forms and got my X-ray done before I even saw the doctor, which took less than a half hour. The x-ray didn’t show any breaks, which is both a good thing and bad thing. After listening to my symptoms and examining my films, the doctor said I need an MRI before he can make a diagnosis. The MRI will either show damage to the tendon, or a stress fracture too small to pick up in an X-ray. If I do have a stress fracture, that means six weeks in a boot! That means I will miss the Security 5k in Vegas, the Phillies 5k, the AC Half Marathon, AND the Broad St Run. I’m trying to think good thoughts and hope for the best, but I’m worried my luck has run out.

In the meantime, I am not allowed to run, AT ALL, until the doctor reviews my films, which isn’t until the 21st. I never thought I would miss running so much, but it’s driving me nuts. I feel like I’m extremely out of shape, and I am missing out on training for all of my upcoming runs. We’ve been having amazing weather this week, and I’m missing being outside running in it. I also miss how therapeutic running can be. I use my running time as time to clear my head and relieve stress. While I’m going a little stir crazy now, I’m hoping to get some good news and be out on Kelly Drive again soon. This mandated break might also help me remember why I loved running to begin with. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

Leave a Reply

