Results are in: Summer Bootcamp

It’s been a long 10 weeks of waking up early for workouts, but I’m kind of sad that my summer bootcamp at Fusion Cross-Training is over. For the summer boot camp series, participants received 10 weeks of unlimited sessions at the studio, one weekly outdoor bootcamp workout, a weekly nutrition tip and food challenge, and a pre/post fitness assessment. For the first 6 weeks, I was going to classes religiously, almost every morning. I could feel myself getting stronger and faster. I noticed the classes are much easier for me now as opposed to when I started and felt like I was going to pass out. For the latter half of the bootcamp, my marathon training schedule started and it was harder for me to squeeze in the classes. I still went at least two times a week, and I was running enough on other days that I was getting plenty of exercise.

I have to admit I slacked on the food portion. I was very good when it came to breakfast and lunch. And I stopped drinking on weekdays. But it’s too hard to eat well for dinner when Matt and I are always so busy. I just can’t avoid eating restaurant food a few times a week. I’m working on being smarter with my diet, which the marathon training really forces me to do anyway.

Our final assessment was this Tuesday, which was the day after my birthday. We were out fairly late for a monday night, and I woke up with a bit of a hangover Tuesday morning. So I knew I wouldn’t be giving it 110%, but I wasn’t about to not show up. I did think ahead enough to do my final weigh-in and body fat check at the end of last week, though, since I knew I’d be a little heavier after a weekend of bday celebrating. I saw some minor improvements, but not as drastic as I was hoping for. I guess that really shows that you can bust your ass in the gym every day, but it doesn’t really matter if you’re not watching what you eat.

I ended up losing 1.5 pounds and a half inch off my waist. I also lost 2.1% body fat. I talked to the trainer and she said they recommend losing 1% per month, so at 10 weeks, I was pretty much right on track with that. As for the other strength tests, I went from doing 30 push-ups in a minute to squeaking out 34. My sit-up number was the same at 39. My wall sit time actually went down a few seconds, which I’ll chalk up to not having the mental capacity to stick it out that morning. The biggest difference I saw was in my cardio test. We ran as fast as we could sustain on a treadmill for 12 minutes. I took 45 seconds off my pace on test day. I know I could have done a bit better if I went into it with a night of full sleep and not being dehydrated.

Overall, I’m happy with the experience. I know I could have seen better results, but I still worked hard and pushed myself. It was a great way to get me back in the routine of getting up every morning to work out, which made starting my NYC Marathon training a little easier. And I am definitely stronger than I was when I started, and faster on short distances. I will definitely keep going to Fusion once a week on my cross-training day.

Leave a Reply

